Thou shalt not lie…except to thyself

You’d think after 20 something years, you’d really know yourself well.  Ideally, you should not get away with lying to yourself about as well as a kindergartner.  Well, turns out I’m still that person who looks on the ceiling and in the dictionary to see if gullible is written there, and I just never learn.

Here are some common lies I tell myself. I hope I’m not alone in this.

  1. It’s okay, you can eat those chips directly from the bag.  I’ll be totally aware of when to stop this time.
  2. Go ahead and watch that one YouTube video…I mean, two. Three is totally normal. ….You didn’t really want to get anything done today, did you?
  3. Good for you for eating salad right after you ate that cookie. But now I don’t really remember even eating it.  You definitely need another one.
  4. I can totally stop picking at my nails whenever I want.  Seriously. After I just get this one bit of skin off.
  5. Starting this 400 page book that you won’t be able to put down is a good idea because you have half an hour of free time and you can read what…60 pages an hour? Yeah okay, just start, it’s fine, it’ll work out.
  6. (Same as above, only with TV episodes.) Hmmm, it says the episode is 44 minutes, but if I watch really fast without stopping (aka just watch normally), I should be done in 20.
  7. Ugh, I feel like I don’t have enough time to do any coding today.  Like I can’t even spare fifteen minutes. (Then I go stare at myself creepily in the mirror for the next half hour or  do something equally not normal)
  8. You definitely won’t regret this in the morning.
  9. Ok, you might regret it, but it will be worth it.

Why can’t I ever learn???  What lies do you tell yourself?  Do you have any ways to call yourself out?

 

featured picture from bigthink.com

Leave a Reply

